What do you do with your spare parts?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TechLife

Super Freak
Reaction score
Hey all!

I am new to Hot Toys, but not to collectibles. Anything I have collected in the past has pretty much required leaving it in the box if you ever wanted it to be worth anything. This is part of what led me to HT to begin with. I can't even express how excited I am to be able to take something out of the box! It's not that I have a habit of selling anything but still...

Anyway, I have looked through several galleries for display ideas and one thing I haven't noticed is what the heck you guys do with the spare parts?! They don't look very good sitting on the shelf IMO. I'm afraid to leave them in the box for fear of fading, cracking, melting, etc.

I know this may be a no-brainer to the veterans but we all have to start somewhere so I'd love to hear your ideas!

Thanks for humoring me :cuckoo:

Ziplock bags. All my boxes are stored away.
I had thought about that but was concerned with moisture. I had considered adding silica to the baggie but have read speculation that was causing some of the fading issues (Iron Man's pink panties). Also with them possibly rubbing against each other and getting scratched. Not that they would be handled but stuff does get moved and stuff happens. Maybe wrapped in a lens or microfiber cloth inside a ziplock? I just don't want to worry about the finish.

My boxes are very safely stored away. I'm super ocd about box condition. I have that covered.

Oh and welcome to the crack shack.
Thanks! I'm pretty sure this is worse though... I have 5 already, 3 on pre-order and actively looking for two more that are out of production. It's only been a month. LOL

Last edited: