Iron Studios owners - are you happy/unhappy w. price/quality?

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sassafras

Super Freak
Reaction score
Read a lot of threads about different figs, but still can't get a real handle on IS quality/value. I'm a newbie collector - and far as I can tell, I can kick myself for missing the 1/10 IS line re price/value/sculpts (e.g. WS, BW, Cap etc.).

So 1/4 scale...first I want WS/Falcon, then not, then maybe...

Read some posts and folks love their IS. Others not so much. So:

1) Should I be bothered IF I purchase IS and a head/portrait is not poly?! like this guy says in this review for Cap https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q****JxueMA

and I got freaked out (no pun intended) over what looks like the use of eye decals:

IS_Cap_eye.jpg

from this vid - that's not paint, you can see the pattern. Or - why not, decals make for consistency and help prevent googly eye paint jobs. Can you even tell re decals unless it's zoomed in w. a good camera this close? Why not make the head poly tho, or is this not accurate and the Cap head or other fig heads ARE poly? Should I worry about the varnish over a decal yellowing w. time?

2) How do these IS statues feel in hand? Don't mean the occasional plastic piece - but overall, do you feel like you purchased a quality piece re the weight or care taken, even if you feel like you overpaid some (or underpaid, even).