Canadian collectors - Current loonie exchange rate

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SwitchStance

Super Freak
Reaction score
Hello fellow Canadian collectors!

I have been collecting Hot Toys for about 3 years now .. Currently the prices are getting pretty insane. A $220 figure will cost you $280 just for the exchange rate alone, then add $30 for shipping and then provincial tax. So a $220 will end up costing around $325 (in Alberta, which has the lowest Provincial tax).

Have any of you decided to hold back on some purchases because of the exchange rate? This question is open to the international community as well.

It's not just Canada. In Australia our rate has nose dived. At one point we were around 1.10USD, in the space of about 12-18 months, we are now sub 0.75.

So that $220USD figure, is now over $300AUD. While space is somewhat due to my slow down in collecting over the past couple of years. The general price increase, combined with the 30%+ increase due to exchange rate, means, that unless I really really really want it, I don't get it.

Of curse the fact that SS now really only make DC, Marvel and Starwars statues, which apart from a couple of old Starwars PF's, I don't collect any of that, then the last SS item I got was the Jessica Rabbit PF and I suspect it's going to stay that way.

Funny how governments/business keep pushing everyone to spend spend spend for the economy, yet more stuff keeps happening that makes you want to do the opposite.

the last hot toys I purchased ways dofp wolverine...after shipping and customs charges that brought it up to just under $400. insane, its a great figure but not worth it in anyway. I had a few more figures on pre-order but cancelled...they can wait until our dollar firms up again.