For those who sculpt

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yodacappy

Super Freak
Reaction score
How did you get interested in sculpting, what did you start with and how did you learn?

I always find things like this interesting to know about people in a hobby and thought it would prove to be a good discussion/interesting reading.

Well while i don't consider myself a sculptor I'll get the ball rolling.
Basically I've always been an illustrator and always considered sculpting a form of illustration, to me its drawing in 3D.
while I've always liked the idea of it I only got started a few years ago (since I don't really draw for fun anymore), I figured I'd try to make a couple of figures that I knew would never be made " The Goodies". I'm self taught via trial & error (the same way I learnt to draw & basically learnt by redoing the sculpt until I was happy. I first started with Fimo clay basically using my xmas holidays to play and leaving on it on the shelf for the rest of the year. Basically I gave up for a while because I was stuck on the next stage "casting". Eventually early this year I jumped into casting, & suprisingly my sculpting had improved because now I can complete the next stage & the stakes are higher in terms of investment in the projects which have spurred me along.

Simply put I'm loving it

PS there's some old threads of mine around here somewhere with my early attempts

Last edited:
Very good discussion topic! :clap