Troubles with a figure's head :(

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shadowcat

Freakalicious
Reaction score
Hi all, I am rather new in this hobby and English in not my first language, so please bear with me :)
I really hope you can understand me anyways and maybe find a way to help me.
I have bought an HT figure's head and body separately, and so now I have finally decided to reassemble them.
It's a Tony Stark the Mechanic figure.
I have used the hairdryer to soften the part inside of the head where the peg has to get in, I almost burned my hands with the hot air but the peg didn't get completely in.
It's somewhat halfway into the head, but it didn't click.
All of the other Hot Toys heads I have put back on their original bodies so far, after a few minutes of hot air, clicked into place, but this one doesn't want to.
I don't know what to do. I don't want to put it into hot water for fear of damaging the paint.
Have you got any suggestions?
Have you ever had similar problems with a head before?
How long (I mean, how many minutes) do I have to use the hairdryer for in order to soften the inside of the head?
Moreover, the tiny piece of moleskin (at least it looks like a kind of moleskin to me) that is inside the head (behind its chin, you know) has started to become sticky since its glue melted because of the hot air and so the neck is all sticky with glue… :(
If I use the hairdryer again will the moleskin peel off?
Thanks a lot in advance for all of your helpful suggestions! :)

hey, I think if you can provide a couple of pictures that will help a lot. Did you purchase the tony stark body? If so, the head should pop on easily. Hairdryer is usually not necessary.