CM Alien paint advice

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

INFECDEAD

Super Freak
Reaction score
I plan on adding some varnish to my CM Alien. I just don't like how dry the paint app on this looks, and I really like how my Alien 3 maquette next to it has a sheen to it. I varnished a few Halcyon Alien pieces back in the day so I have some experience here.
So, not concerned with ruining the value of the statue since I will never sell it I'm wondering if anyone knows if the paint on the CM's is acrylic or oil based? The varnish I have I used on my acrylic painted Halcyons but it can't be used on oil based paints so I don't want to ruin it by putting the wrong varnish on it. If anyone also has some experience in doing something similar and can recommend a good varnish product that would be cool.
If anyone could help me out with this it would be great.
Cheers

P1000514.jpg

What about spraying the piece with automotive clear coat. I have used that on many pieces and gives it a nice glossy coat. Won't harm acrylic paint either. In fact the opposite actually brings ut the colors and gives it depth.

Sorry to side track. I don't know much at all about varnish.

For gloss coating you might want to consider Future/Klear. It's actually an acrylic-based water-soluble floor polish but it works fantastic on models. It's fairly safe and non-reactive with most dry paint finishes (though it can lift off wet acrylic.) The best thing I find with it is how easy it is to apply and how well it settles into an even coat.

https://www.swannysmodels.com/TheCompleteFuture.html

But of course you need to test whatever you use first! Good luck.