WIP - Custom Leonidas from 300

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zedex9r

Super Freak
Reaction score
G'day All

Having seen some other great looking custom Leonidas figures on this board, it has given me some inspiration to do my own.

I have only just started him, and there is still a long way to go, but I thought I might put up some initial work in progress shots.

I started by picking up the NECA 12" Talking Leonidas figure. Wow, this guy is heavy. He is full solid plastic, so I knew that the trusty "Ryobi" Rotary tool was going to get a work out! I have never done this sort of thing before, so it was all learn as I go.

1) I cut off one of his arms, and both legs and went to work:
30022.jpg

2) While waiting for his new body to arrive, I cut and bored out the shin and wrist guards. They are a bit rough now, with more work to go. I need to sand and milliput a few nicks where I was a bit heavy with the tool:
30021.jpg

30015.jpg

3) The new body arrived. A full muscle body from the Hot Toys PMC figure:
30012.jpg

4) It looks like the NECA head will almost fit straight on. Only very minor modifications were needed to do this:
30017.jpg

30011.jpg

30010.jpg

5) With the head on, I did a quick mock-up to see how he looks. So far so good:
3008.jpg

3007.jpg

3006.jpg

Like I said, he is still in the early stages, with a long way to go. I will post another update soon hopefully.

Cheers

Awesome. I love the Leonidas body swaps. I can't wait to see him in all his articulated glory:D

When I made mine I found the standard hands and feet were too small looking and not great for holding the weapons. But you can dremmel out the Leonidas hands and feeth and use the wrist and ankle pegs. Also the Neca parts take paint a lot better.

[
300i.jpg