Newbie alert..I'm after some advice

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

unholyman

Just a little freaky
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm a total newbie to the world of collectibles. I've marvelled at the intricately detailed figures and pieces for years but have never actually brought any or started a serious collection. So it is with great humility that I throw myself at the feet of your collective expertise and ask...where should I start? I need advice on what are trusted manufacturers,price ranges,should you buy second hand and if so what are the pitfalls? Should I buy posable figures or stick to busts and statues? So many questions I know. Here are a few answers....I've always liked Alien,Robocop and Ironman. I really like the the Evil Dead trilogy. I've seen items for all of these but again I don't know good from bad. This is where you learned lot come in. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Collect a little of everything and don't over think things. You will know if you are paying too much, ebay completed listings is your best friend.
Welcome!

I started with the 1/6 Hot Toys Batman figures and got sick of them falling over after posing them, so I figured "why don't I switch to 1/4 statues?" and I've never looked back.

The way I figure is this, not only do the 1/4 PFs retain their value but they actually increase over time, even if they are opened, make them a true investment. So it's win win. I get to display and enjoy my statue but I could always sell it if I ever need to and come out on top.

The only problem is space. I have a dedicated room for my PFs and I'm already thinking of trimming down my collection and becoming more selective. Eventualy space and money will sort everything out for you. So just buy what you like and enjoy.