HD TV advice

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisCJ99

Super Freak
CF Supporter
Reaction score
Howdy folks,
So I'm considering to purchase a 32"-37" HD tv (with 1080p resolution) I've always wanted one but never really justified spending the money since I'm a student on a budget, but one of my classes actually requires us to watch movies weekly (which is amazing) and I've raised a little cash recently. So I am going to be doing the apple tv with Netflix option, and I wanted some suggestions from you guys (since I know there are some home entertainment/bargain gurus here)

-Which brands would you recommend and avoid?
-Where is the best place to get it the cheapest?!

Thanks guys :wave

How much do you want to spend? 32" LCDs are probably around $350-$400 right now. Best Buy or Ultimate Electronics are probably the best places. Also try Target. Now and then they have an older model on clearance.

The best values are usually around the 42" or bigger range...where they toss in free dvd players and stuff. If you can spare $1000 I'd look at those.

if you can't afford that right now, i'd probably stick with whatever you are currently using until you can. Prices only go down anyway. In 6 months the $1000 tvs will be $800 anyway.

Also, the deals will get cheaper the closer to Christmas we get. Lots of deals on black friday for tvs.

If you go with a 32" screen I don't think 1080p is necessary. 720p is still pretty good on that size screen and it will be much less expensive. If you do go 37" or bigger, 1080p does become important. Also, if you are going to be streaming netflix rather than watching blurays you probably wouldn't be watching 1080p source material anyway.

This is slightly out of your range, but keep an eye on it. It may hit the $500 mark in the next 6 months or so.
https://www.ultimateelectronics.com/product.php?id=PANTCP42S2