Thoughts on Kobukiyia products...

Collector Freaks Forum

Help Support Collector Freaks Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

romanomagic

Freakalicious
Reaction score
I'm new to collecting, Sideshow has kind of disapointed me with product delays, paint flaws, and price. What are you thoughts with the Kobukiyia line? I don't really care about re-sell, just want some cool displays for my theatre. Thanks!

The detail on koto stuff is great, as is there paint quality, but I really dislike the vinyl, pvc base of there pieces, it just makes them feel cheap to me.
But if your ok with that they have some good stuff at a good bargain.

I only have one Koto piece and that's the Darth Vader with Pewter Paint Finish. It was my very first piece I got and therefore will always have a special place in my collection. As far as the quality of it, the fact that it's vinyl and PVC doesn't bother me too much, sure it's not the highest quality, but it's still a very nice statue. I think Koto's statues are very nice overall, and the lower price point helps also.

Ive got 12 Koto pieces, but ive stopped getting them now. Im collecting 1/6 Hot toys and SSC now. Koto are ok but for the price id rather go elsewhere. Oh and their early stuff isnt all that its cheap and nasty.

I used to have the Koto 501st clone and loved it. The paint job was top notch and you really couldn't tell it was vinyl. That said, some of the human ones I've seen have been less than stellar.

I got 1 koto, their version of the 2008 Hulk from the movie that just got released not to long ago. I had to get it mainly because im a Hulk nut. Its pretty good, but not jaw dropping. I paid $250 by the time everything was done. All in all im happy with it...I think koto is pretty good. But then again I only own 1 of their pieces, not enough to make an accurate assessment.

Chris